Tech Tock

Time is of the essence.

Charting Update – XCeed Still Going Strong in 3D

I overcame the 3D charting slowness by (duh) changing the point style to inverted pyramid from sphere. Obviously, the graphics hardware (I hope its in hardware) is drawing tons of polygons to show tiny spheres and only a few for pyramids. Why inverted? I don’t really know, but my best guess is that it has to do with lighting and shading, which I’m sure to investigate one day soon. Funny that these tiny dots (up to 22,000 now) are trying to draw themselves in 3D when I can barely see them.

Funny enough, the speed advantage is not apparent on the old MacBook I was planning to demo on.  If I had tried this on the wrong machine, I never would have known it works.

November 12, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

