Tech Tock

Time is of the essence.

Considering Adding a Functional Language to My Bag of Tricks

There are a lot of people @Lab who know things like Erlang, Haskell, Python, R, etc., etc., etc.  I’m actually considering learning Lisp, but I need a project.  I “learned” php for a project over the summer, but I didn’t really like it since its so much like classic ASP (really messy).  Maybe I’ll learn F# instead…  That shouldn’t be such a strech since I built an ML compiler in grad school (F# is based on ML).  I wonder what kind of project I’d be interested in would benefit from a functional language…  I suppose I’ll have to read up on the language and maybe that will give me some ideas.

Its funny, doing WPF, my umpteenth technology, is just not enough.

November 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. […] project)  He makes a good point on his blog about thanking the people of Lab49.  I personally am inspired to do more just being […]

    Pingback by @Lab this Week « Tech Tock | November 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. […] 26, 2009 As I mentioned last month, I want to learn a functional programming language.  Lucky for me, Dr. Erik Meijer (and his […]

    Pingback by Functional Homework « Tech Tock | December 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

