Tech Tock

Time is of the essence.

ReSharper Withdrawal

ReSharper (R#) is a Swiss Army Knife utility.  It’s an add-in for Visual Studio and it works so seamlessly with the environment, I’m usually not sure if I’m using a ReSharper feature or a Visual Studio feature.  I’ve only been using it a few weeks and I wouldn’t want to work without it.  I know I’ve barely scratched the surface of its features.

My ReSharper license expired and here’s what I missed in the couple hours I was Resharperless:

  • Quick delete for sections.
  • Auto naming variables similar to their types with proper casing.
  • Auto generation of case statement labels.
  • Remote editing

Remote editing:  fixing a problem identified in one section of code by modifying another section of code.  For example, as below, when referencing a private enum throws an accessibility warning, you can use the left hand light bulb to correct the problem where it is noted without going directly to the class itself.  This is more useful when the class is in another file and needs a signature or accessibility change.

image

More great things about Resharper

  • Auto adds using namespace statements.
  • Auto adds framework references to your project (e.g. WindowsBase)
  • Unit test runner – so it replaces TestDriven.Net (sorry TDN, I liked you too)
  • Coding hints.  It will offer suggestions on code refactoring
  • Move class to its own file.  If you make a class anywhere, you can have R# move it to its own properly named file with one click.  You can also have R# rename the file you’re working on when you rename the class with a convenient click.
  • Hot key to create a delegate

Bad things about ReSharper

These are pretty easy to ignore.

  • Suppress inspection with comment allows you to stop it from warning you about specific lines of code, but only at the expense of ugly comments in your code
  • It keeps offering to convert my Linq queries into Method chains which are usually pretty ugly.

Worst Thing About ReSharper

It’s so good with delegates that its stopping me from learning the proper syntax.

Oh well, I think it’s HL Mencken who said:

Progress consists of increasing the number of things we can do without thinking.

Unfortunately, I can’t find the quote, so maybe I’m wrong.  Does anybody know the source of that quote?  If not, then you can quote me on it.  🙂

November 20, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

