Tech Tock

Time is of the essence.

.Net Logger

In a recent small project I needed a logger. I would normally use Log4Net, but I couldn’t get it to work within the allotted 1/2 hour.  Since I chose it because it was easy, I tossed it aside.

I didn’t want the hassle of Enterprise Library and its heavy handed uber configged implementation.

This little logger on CodePlex with the goal of simplicity worked immediately with no trouble.  It’s now my preferred logger for small projects.

February 10, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

4 Comments »

  1. Did you try the Trace Listeners built in to .NET?

    System.Diagnostics..::.TextWriterTraceListener
    System.Diagnostics..::.ConsoleTraceListener
    System.Diagnostics..::.DelimitedListTraceListener
    System.Diagnostics..::.EventSchemaTraceListener
    System.Diagnostics..::.XmlWriterTraceListener

    I use the XmlWriterTraceListener, and have had no problems with it so far…

    Comment by dotnet | February 10, 2010 | Reply

    • I like to use a library that has at least a little more functionality, but I’ll keep this in mind.

      Comment by goldmanalpha | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. I find log4net pretty easy to use, there is really no config to get up and running quickly.

    Comment by TJ | February 10, 2010 | Reply

    • That was my experience till now too. I probably did something wrong.

      Comment by goldmanalpha | February 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

