Tech Tock

Time is of the essence.

@Lab

WPF Rendering Performance Improvement

Lab49’s Charlie Robbins  has a 2 magnitude WPF tip.

Silverlight Vs. Flex

Interesting discussion of Flex vs. Silverlight.  I’m a .Net guy so I’m biased and I prefer to develop in Silverlight.  The environment is more mature.  On the other hand you can’t argue with the 90%+ installed base of Flex support.  This .Net guy came out in favor of Silverlight (surprise, surprise), but concludes that his latest “flex app is the best looking application I’ve ever seen”.  On the other hand I see awesome looking Silverlight apps @Lab all the time.  I was even on a team that made one (the designer is to credit — my UIs are not pretty by nature — but with a designer and Silverlight I was surprised what I could do).  Also, its somewhat disappointing that the best discussion of this fast moving topic is a year old.

More Apple Controversy

Is this guy good or evil (play the video in the link)?  I’m on the fence.  Lock-in is annoying, but being able to profit from innovation is important.  The issue of Apple limiting what apps you can develop with is something of a lock-out.

In any case, a user can just lean back and enjoy the iPad in good health.

Tech Seminar – DSLs:  Implementation options in .Net

I know several Lab49 projects have used domain specific languages and I have an interest in the topic, but unfortunately I was out that day :(.

New Rx

A new release of Rx was dropped on Friday.  Is it amazing responsiveness or just coincidence that some Lab49ers reported a bug on Tuesday that was fixed in this release?

Cell Phone Explosion

This is the second time I’ve been warned of the phenomenon.

Google Maps – Now in 3D

Get your 3D glasses and go.  You do have 3D glasses, don’t you?

SAP Buys Sybase

Now they have 3 CEP engines and a database with a whopping 3% market share.  But Sybase is still entrenched in financial companies, so there’s that…

May 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

