Tech Tock

Time is of the essence.

Requirements are BS?

Starting a new project so I thought I’d look for some standard requirements gathering questions to make sure I had all the bases covered.  Google didn’t help me find anything good, but I did stumble on Steve Yegge’s hilarious (seriously LOL) and insightful blog post making the argument that “Requirements Are Bullshit“.  He’s right for his point of view which is in mass marketing, but when building in-house custom apps which probably outnumbers mass market apps 10 to 1, requirements are pretty important. I will agree that you have to build something you would want to use.  When I put in x-teen hours a week running my app for testing, any feature that’s not easy to use will go on the upgrade list pretty quick since I don’t want a hassle from my own software.

I’m curious enough to ask more open ended questions than most people want to answer anyway, so I’m sure not having a specific list will keep working fine.

October 17, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , | 1 Comment